BestBet 360
Rugby | 14-man Lions capitulate as Sharks run riot


Johannesburg – The Sharks claimed a come-from-behind Currie Cup win over the Golden Lions at Ellis Park on Saturday night.

The Sharks won 47-31, having trailed 24-5 at half-time.

The Lions had led 31-5 early in the second half but a red card to hooker Robbie Coetzee proved a killer blow for the home side.

Coetzee had kicked a Sharks player in the face just after the Durbanites scored a try and received his marching orders from referee Egon Seconds.

The scoreline was 31-12 in favour of the Lions when Coetzee left the field and after that there was only one team on the park.

This is the second red card for foul play that Coetzee has received this season, having been sent off in a Super Rugby game against the Southern Kings in May.

The bonus-point win saw the Sharks move to the top of the Currie Cup standings, while the Lions are second from bottom.

Sharks flank Jacques Vermeulen, who scored a brace of tries, was named man-of-the-match.

In next weekend’s action, the Lions travel to Cape Town to face Western Province (Friday, August 18), while the Sharks have a bye.


Golden Lions

Tries: Rohan Janse van Rensburg, Jacques Nel, Anthony Volmink, Marco Jansen van Vuuren, Fabian Booysen
Conversions: Javo van der Walt (3)


Tries: Tera Mtembu, Jacques Vermeulen (2), penalty try, Louis Schreuder, John-Hubert Meyer, Keegan Daniel
Conversions: Garth April (5)

Note: A penalty try is worth seven points


Golden Lions

15 Sylvian Mahuza, 14 Madosh Tambwe, 13 Jacques Nel, 12 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 11 Antony Volmink, 10 Jaco van der Walt, 9 Dillon Smit, 8 Ryan Kankowski (captain), 7 Fabian Booysen, 6 Cyle Brink, 5 Marvin Orie, 4. Robert Kruger, 3 Johannes Jonker, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Corne Fourie

Substitutes: 16 Michael Willemse, 17 Sti Sithole, 18 Bobby de Wee, 19 Hacjivah Dayimani, 20 Marco Janse van Vuuren, 21 Siya Masuku, 22 Aphiwe Dyantyi


15. Garth April, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. Lukhanyo Am, 12. Marius Louw, 11. S’busiso Nkosi, 10. Benhard Janse van Rensburg, 9. Cameron Wright, 8. Tera Mtembu, 7. Jacques Vermeulen, 6. Keegan Daniel, 5. Ruan Botha (captain), 4. Tyler Paul, 3. Ross Geldenhuys, 2. Franco Marais, 1. Thomas du Toit
Substitutes (from): Akker van der Merwe, Inny Radebe, Juan Schoeman, John-Hubert Meyer, Jean Droste, Louis Schreuder, Michael Claassens, Mzamo Majola, Wian Vosloo

Source link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

We are the biggest all round sports news website, serving our readers with the best sports news global

For inquiries please email

Copyright © 2015 Sport World 360. All Rights Reserved.

To Top