Rugby | Cheetahs ring the changes for final tour match in Cardiff

Cape Town – Hawies Fourie has made five changes and three positional
switches to the Cheetahs’ line-up for Saturday’s PRO14 match against the Cardiff

Kick-off is at 19:15 SA time.

Fourie said: “We’re looking forward to Saturday’s
match. It is the last one on tour. We came here to win all three,
but unfortunately we lost the first two. This is our last
chance to win a match on tour.

“Our preparations this week went well. We are lucky not to have
any injuries and have a full team to train with, which brings continuity. 
We’ll be playing on an artificial pitch and luckily we trained on Cardiff
City’s soccer field this week with the same surface for the players to get
used to the conditions.

“Cardiff didn’t have the best start, but they have strong team,
especially with players returning from the World Cup. We expect a big

Anthony Volmink starts on the left wing with Clayton Blommetjies
shifting to right wing in place of William Small-Smith, who in return moves
into the midfield.

As a result of Small-Smith’s selection at outside centre, Benhard
Janse van Rensburg shifts to No 12 at the expense of Louis Fouche who
drops to the bench.

In the final backline change, Ruan Pienaar
starts at scrumhalf and will also captain the side.

Up front, loosehead prop Luan de Bruin earns his first start of the
season ahead of Boan Venter, while lock Walt Steenkamp and flank Gerhard
Olivier replace JP du Preez and Sias Koen, respectively.

The Cheetahs find themselves third in Conference A after five matches, while the Cardiff Blues are down in sixth in Conference B.

The Cheetahs will return to South Africa on Sunday. Their next match is on November 30 against Ospreys at 21:35 (SA time) at the Liberty Stadium in
Swansea, Wales.


Cardiff Blues

15 Matthew Morgan, 14 Harri Millard, 13 Rey Lee-Lo, 12 Jarrod Evans, 11 Aled
Summerhill, 19 Jason Tovey, 9 Lloyd Williams (captain), 8 Nick Williams,
7 Will Boyde, 6 Shane Lewis-Hughes, 5 Seb Davies, 4 Josh Turnbull, 3 Scott Andrews, 2 Liam
Belcher, 1 Corey Domachowski

Substitutes: 16 Kirby Myhill, 17 Brad Thyer, 18 Keiron Assiratti, 19 Macauley Cook, 20 Alun Lawrence, 21 Lewis Jones, 22 Willis Halaholo, 23 Jason Harries


15 Rhyno Smith, 14 Clayton Blommetjies,
13 William Small-Smith, 12 Benhard Janse van Rensburg, 11 Anthony
Volmink, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Ruan Pienaar (captain), 8 Jasper Wiese, 7 Junior
Pokomela, 6 Gerhard Olivier, 5 Walk Steenkamp, 4 Sintu Manjezi, 3 Aranos
Coetzee, 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Luan de Bruin

Substitutes: 16 Wilmar Arnoldi, 17 Boan Venter, 18 Erich de Jager, 19 JP du
Preez, 20 Sias Koen, 21 Tian Meyer, 22 George Whitehead, 23 Louis

Source link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

We are the biggest all round sports news website, serving our readers with the best sports news global

For inquiries please email

Copyright © 2015 Sport World 360. All Rights Reserved.

To Top