Golf | Koepka voted 2018 PGA Tour Player of the Year

Ponte Vedra Beach – The PGA Tour announced on Tuesday that Brooks Koepka has been named the 2018 PGA Tour Player of the Year as
voted by the Tour’s membership for the 2017/18 season.

PGA Tour members who
played in at least 15 FedExCup events during the 2017-18 season were eligible
to vote. The balloting process ended on October 1.

Koepka, a 28-year-old
native of West Palm Beach in Florida, finished a career-best ninth in the FedExCup
following a season that included victories at both the US Open and PGA

He earned four additional top-10 finishes, including runners-up
at the World Golf Championships-HSBC Champions and Charles Schwab Challenge.

“On behalf of the PGA
Tour, our congratulations to Brooks Koepka on being voted PGA Tour Player of
the Year by his peers,” said PGA Tour Commissioner Jay Monahan.

“Brooks has
brought a new brand of athleticism to the PGA Tour, and we saw the results this
year with his historic season at the major championships and a top-10 finish in
the FedExCup. These feats were accomplished despite missing significant time
due to injury, a testament to his work ethic and perseverance throughout the

Following the Sentry
Tournament of Champions in January, Koepka did not compete on Tour while
recovering from a left wrist injury, making his return in late April at the
Zurich Classic of New Orleans.

With his victory at the
US Open at Shinnecock Hills, Koepka became the first player since Curtis
Strange (1988-89) to win back-to-back US Open titles.

Five starts later,
Koepka won his third Major title in his 100th PGA Tour start,
capturing the PGA Championship by two strokes over Tiger Woods with a
tournament record 16-under 264.

At age 28, Koepka became the fifth American
since 1945 with three or more major wins before the age of 29 and the fifth player
to win the US Open and PGA Championship in the same season.

Koepka posted season-low
rounds of 63 on four occasions in 17 PGA Tour starts, including the lowest
final round ever at The Players Championship. He closed the season with 13 of
16 rounds in the 60s over the four FedExCup Playoffs events.

Koepka, who will receive
the Jack Nicklaus Trophy for winning PGA Tour Player of the Year, was selected
for the honour over Bryson DeChambeau, Dustin Johnson, Francesco Molinari,
Justin Rose and Justin Thomas.

Source link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

We are the biggest all round sports news website, serving our readers with the best sports news global

For inquiries please email

Copyright © 2015 Sport World 360. All Rights Reserved.

To Top