playquik
News

NFL on whistle halting Pats' play: 'Was a mistake'


Monday Night Football has once again produced a bizarre NFL officiating controversy.

This time, a live play was halted because of an inadvertent whistle in the third quarter of the New England Patriots‘ 20-13 win over the Buffalo Bills.

The mistake limited the Patriots’ yardage on a pass to receiver Danny Amendola. In addition, an initial reading of the applicable NFL rule suggests referee Gene Steratore might have erred in placing the ball after the play.

The controversy occurred after Patriots quarterback Tom Brady, scrambling toward the right sideline, lofted a pass toward Amendola. A whistle was clearly audible on the ESPN broadcast as the ball was in the air. Amendola made the catch at the Bills’ 45-yard line, at which point officials stopped the play.

The Pats went on to miss a 54-yard field goal.

“Line judge lost track of the football, blew his whistle inadvertently,” Dean Blandino, the NFL’s vice president of officiating, told NFL Network after the game. “It was a mistake. Whistle shouldn’t have been blown.”

Blandino said he was “wondering why” the whistle was inadvertently blown in that situation, but he praised the refs for “doing a good job of handling where they were going to put the football because both teams are affected by the whistle blowing.”

After play was halted, Steratore sought out line judge Gary Arthur for his initial discussion. After huddling with his on-field crew for several minutes, Steratore announced that “when the receiver caught the football, there was an inadvertent whistle by an official on the field. By rule, the ball is dead at the spot where the reception was made. That is where the receiver gained possession.”

NFL dead ball instructions are discussed in Rule 7, Section 2, Article 1 of the NFL rulebook. Part of the rule states that “when an official sounds his whistle erroneously while the ball is still in play, the ball becomes dead immediately.”

The rule goes on to note that if a player has possession at the time of the whistle, the team can elect to take possession at the point of possession or re-do the play. But if the ball is loose “resulting from a legal forward pass” — in other words, if it’s in the air — the ball is returned to the previous spot, and the down is replayed.

Steratore enforced the rule as if the whistle occurred when Amendola made the catch. The NFL will review whether that was, in fact, the case. Steratore also ruled that a member of the Bills’ sideline interfered with an official — possibly coach Rex Ryan, who walked in front of Arthur — and added 15 yards to the play for unsportsmanlike conduct.

Erroneous whistles are not reviewable by NFL replay.

The scene was the latest officiating controversy on Monday Night Football. In Week 4, officials missed an illegal bat penalty in the end zone on a critical fourth-quarter play in the Seattle Seahawks‘ 13-10 victory over the Detroit Lions. A week later, the officiating crew did not notice a runoff of 18 seconds from the game clock during the Pittsburgh Steelers‘ 24-20 victory over the San Diego Chargers.



Source link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

We are the biggest all round sports news website, serving our readers with the best sports news global

For inquiries please email info@sportworld360.com

Copyright © 2015 Sport World 360. All Rights Reserved.

To Top