Rugby World Cup 2015: Crucial penalty call that saw Australia beat Scotland was a blunder, World Rugby confirms

World Rugby has admitted referee Craig Joubert blundered by awarding Australia the last-gasp penalty that sent Scotland crashing out of the World Cup.

The Wallabies clinched a dramatic 35-34 victory at Twickenham on Sunday when Bernard Foley was on target from the kicking tee with 43 seconds remaining.

World Rugby has said in a statement that having reviewed the incident, the “appropriate decision was a scrum to Australia for the original knock-on” and not a penalty.

The admission by the game’s governing body that one of their most respected referees effectively cost Scotland a place in the semi-finals will provide scant consolation to Vern Cotter’s men.

The Scots were magnificent as they fought back to establish a 34-32 lead in one of the World Cup’s greatest knockout matches, only to be robbed of a famous victory by Joubert’s pivotal late call that provoked a furious response from former players of all nationalities.

World Rugby failed to explain why Joubert sprinted down the tunnel after blowing the final whistle, but it is understood that the official wanted to avoid any heated discussions on the pitch with devastated Scottish players.

Source link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

We are the biggest all round sports news website, serving our readers with the best sports news global

For inquiries please email

Copyright © 2015 Sport World 360. All Rights Reserved.

To Top