Rugby | Bok coach sounds warning to players

Cape Town – Springbok coach Allister Coetzee has warned his players to improve their discipline and execution or else face the consequences.

The Springboks were stunned 26-20 by a 14-man Ireland in the first Test at Newlands last week – a win which saw the visitors claim their first win over the Boks in South Africa in eight attempts.

The Springboks were ill disciplined, while their skills also let them down at crucial stages.

Coetzee is confident that the players will redeem themselves in the second Test in Johannesburg on Saturday, but has given them an ultimatum.

“It was unacceptable to concede seven penalties within (the first) 22 minutes. They (the players) understand there will be consequences,” Coetzee said after naming his team on Thursday.

“We will definitely make sure it will hurt the players financially or it could cost them their position in the team.”

According to Coetzee, the players conceded “sloppy” penalties and did not stick to the systems.

“We’re starting on a new slate this week. Therefore I’ve give the same players, most of them an opportunity to redeem themselves and make sure that they get it right.

“I believe in giving second chances. I believe the players need that to improve this weekend and show… if they don’t then obviously I need to look at other players.”

Saturday’s clash at Ellis Park is scheduled for 17:00.


South Africa

15 Willie le Roux, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Adriaan Strauss (captain), 1 Tendai Mtawarira

Substitutes: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Julian Redelinghuys, 19 Franco Mostert, 20 Warren Whiteley, 21 Rudy Paige 22 Morne Steyn, 23 Ruan Combrinck


15 Jared Payne, 14 Andrew Trimble, 13 Robbie Henshaw, 12 Stuart Olding, 11 Craig Gilroy, 10 Paddy Jackson, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Jamie Heaslip, 7 Rhys Ruddock, 6 Iain Henderson, 5 Quinn Roux, 4 Devin Toner, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 2 Rory Best (captain), 1 Jack McGrath

Substitutes: 16 Richardt Strauss, 17 Dave Kilcoyne, 18 Finlay Bealham, 19 Donnacha Ryan, 20 Sean Reidy, 21 Kieran Marmion, 22 Ian Madigan, 23 Tiernan O’Halloran

Source link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

We are the biggest all round sports news website, serving our readers with the best sports news global

For inquiries please email

Copyright © 2015 Sport World 360. All Rights Reserved.

To Top