Rugby | Boks, Heyneke snubbed for World Rugby awards

Japan had waited 24 years for a second RWC victory but
under Jones they won three matches in 2015, climbed to 10th in the World
Rugby Rankings and narrowly missed out on a first-ever quarter-final
place. They earned a new army of fans not only at home with television
audiences growing with every match to reach 25 million against Samoa,
but also around the world, helping to transform the sport’s profile in
Japan and create heroes for the next generation to look up to ahead of
the country hosting the tournament in 2019.

World Rugby chairperson Bernard Lapasset said: “Over the past 12 months
we have been treated to compelling and competitive rugby and some truly
wonderful team performances. Reaching a Rugby World Cup final requires
great strength in depth across an entire squad so the achievements for
Australia and New Zealand in that regard are amazing.

“Argentina, they have improved so much in recent times and their
performances both in The Rugby Championship and Rugby World Cup are
testament to that. Japan arrived at Rugby World Cup 2015 with great
optimism and then shocked the world with their victory over South
Africa. They backed that up with victories over Samoa and USA and
narrowly missed out on a quarter-final place. All these four teams won
many admirers in 2015 and it will not be an easy decision to pick just
one to be crowned World Rugby Team of the Year.

“Michael Cheika, Steve Hansen, Daniel Hourcade and Eddie Jones have
all enjoyed stellar years in 2015. Each of them is an experienced coach,
used to the stresses and strains of leading top sides but this year
they have all excelled by ensuring their players were in peak physical,
mental and technical condition and ready to set Rugby World Cup 2015
alight with their skill, strength, athleticism and calmness under
pressure. Through their leadership, these coaches have contributed
greatly to a magnificent rugby year and whoever is named the World Rugby
Coach of the Year will be deserving of that prestigious accolade.”

For more information on the World Rugby Awards, visit

Previous Team of the Year Award winners:

2014 – New Zealand
2013 – New Zealand
2012 – New Zealand
2011 – New Zealand
2010 – New Zealand
2009 – South Africa
2008 – New Zealand
2007 – South Africa
2006 – New Zealand
2005 – New Zealand
2004 – South Africa
2003 – England
2002 – France
2001 – Australia

Previous Coach of the Year Award winners:

2014 – Steve Hansen (New Zealand)
2013 – Steve Hansen (New Zealand)
2012 – Steve Hansen (New Zealand)
2011 – Graham Henry (New Zealand)
2010 – Graham Henry (New Zealand)
2009 – Declan Kidney (Ireland)
2008 – Graham Henry (New Zealand)
2007 – Jake White (South Africa)
2006 – Graham Henry (New Zealand)
2005 – Graham Henry (New Zealand)
2004 – Jake White (South Africa)
2003 – Clive Woodward (England)
2002 – Bernard Laporte (France)
2001 – Rod Macqueen (Australia)

Source link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

We are the biggest all round sports news website, serving our readers with the best sports news global

For inquiries please email

Copyright © 2015 Sport World 360. All Rights Reserved.

To Top