Rugby | Chiefs name team for Kings tussle

Cape Town – A largely new-look forward pack will front up
for the Chiefs when they take on the Southern Kings in Port Elizabeth on

Head coach Dave Rennie has made numerous changes to the team
that lost 36-32 to the Lions in Hamilton last Saturday.

The revamped front row sees Mitchell Graham, Nathan Harris
and Siate Tokolahi pack down for their first starts of the season.

In the second row, Johan Bardoul partners with Michael
Allardice. Bardoul replaces the injured Brodie Retallick who is sidelined for
four-six weeks after sustaining broken ribs against the Lions last week. Taleni
Seu, Sam Cane and Michael Leitch form the loose forward trio adding plenty of
power and agility to the back of the scrum.

In the backline, Brad Weber gets his first start of the 2016
Super Rugby season at scrumhalf. Co-captain Aaron Cruden retains the No 10
jersey, with Charlie Ngatai and Seta Tamanivalu continuing their dominant
partnership in the midfield for the third successive week.

Glen Fisiiahi impressed in his debut to earn his first start
on the right wing, with James Lowe and Damian McKenzie rounding out the
backline in jerseys 11 and 15 respectively.

The strong reserve bench packs a punch with Rhys Marshall,
Pauliasi Manu and 2015 gold medal winning New Zealand Under-20 captain Atu Moli
on hand as front row replacements.

They are joined on the bench by fellow forwards James Tucker
and Maama Vaipulu.

Replacement scrumhalf Tawera Kerr-Barlow offers plenty of
experience, with Anton Lienert-Brown and Sam McNicol ready to add impact to the
backline off the bench.

Should Atu Moli and James Tucker take the field, they will
be making their Super Rugby debuts, while Sam McNicol is in line to earn his
first cap for the Chiefs.

Saturday’s clash at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium is scheduled
for 15:05.


Southern Kings

15 Jurgen Visser 14 Luzuko Vulindlu 13 Stefan Watermeyer 12
Shane Gates 11 Malcolm Jaer 10 Louis Fouche 9 Ntando Kebe 8 Jacques Engelbrecht
7 Thembelani Bholi 6 Chris Cloete 5 JC Astle 4 Steven Sykes (captain) 3 Jacobie
Adriaanse 2 Edgar Matutlule 1 Schalk Feirreira

Substitutes: 16 Sithembiso Sithole 17 Martin Bezuidenhout 18
Tom Botha 19 Schalk Oelofse 20 CJ Velleman 21 Kevin Luiters 22 Elgar Watts 23
Jaco van Tonder


15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Glen Fisiiahi, 13 Seta Tamanivalu, 12
Charlie Ngatai, 11 James Lowe, 10 Aaron Cruden (co-captain), 9 Brad Weber, 8
Michael Leitch, 7 Sam Cane (co-captain), 6 Taleni Seu, 5 Johan Bardoul, 4
Michael Allardice, 3 Siate Tokolahi, 2 Nathan Harris, 1 Mitchell Graham

Substitutes: 16 Rhys Marshall, 17 Pauliasi Manu, 18 Atu
Moli, 19 James Tucker, 20 Maama Vaipulu, 21 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 22 Anton
Lienert-Brown, 23 Sam McNicol

Source link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

We are the biggest all round sports news website, serving our readers with the best sports news global

For inquiries please email

Copyright © 2015 Sport World 360. All Rights Reserved.

To Top