Golf | Els, Simpson join NGC field

Cape Town – Ernie Els
and Webb Simpson are the first two Major champions to confirm their places in
the 2015 Nedbank Golf Challenge to be played at the Gary Player Country Club at
Sun City from 3-6 December.

winners of five Majors between them join defending champion Danny Willett of
England, Sweden’s Henrik Stenson and South Africa’s Thomas Aiken as the first
five players confirmed for “Africa’s Major”. Both Els and Simpson qualified for
this year’s event through the new eligibility criteria that allows for four
tournament invitations. 

Els is
the most successful golfer in the history of the Nedbank Golf Challenge and
will be making a record 19th appearance in the tournament. 

Since his debut in the 1992 Nedbank Golf Challenge,
when he finished third, Els has become an icon of the Nedbank Golf Challenge
with his victories in 1999, 2000 and 2002. He has also earned the most prize
money of any golfer in the history of the tournament. 

This year
Els will be seeking to become the first four-time winner in the history of the
Nedbank Golf Challenge. His three victories currently equal those of Nick Price
and David Frost. 

Simpson will make his debut at Sun City. The winner of
the 2012 US Open and a further three PGA Tour titles finished 48th
on the final FedEx Cup standings this year, and following a season of six
top-10s on the PGA Tour including tied second in the Wells Fargo Championship. 

The American had a breakthrough season on the PGA Tour
in 2011 when he won twice. He claimed his first Major in the US Open the
following year, and his most recent PGA Tour title was a convincing six-stroke
victory in the Shriners Hospitals for Children Open in 2013. He has played on
two Ryder Cup and Presidents Cup teams and will be looking to become the first
American winner of the Nedbank Golf Challenge since Jim Furyk won back-to-back
titles in 2005 and 2006. 

“I’m delighted to confirm both Ernie and Webb in our
2015 field. Ernie is one of the greatest ambassadors of the Nedbank Golf
Challenge and always a firm favourite with the Sun City fans. His victory in
1999 with a tournament record of 25 under par
stands as one of the finest performances we’ve ever seen in this tournament,” said Alastair Roper, Sun International’s
Tournament Director for the Nedbank Golf Challenge. 

“To have Webb in our field is also a major endorsement
of the enduring appeal of the Nedbank Golf Challenge in global golf, and
particularly in the United States. Our first two champions were Americans
(Johnny Miller and Raymond Floyd) and Webb will continue a proud history of the
top American players competing at Sun City.” 

The field
for the $6.5 million tournament will once again feature 30 of the world’s best players
competing for a first prize of $1.25 million, and in a tournament co-sanctioned
by the Sunshine Tour and European Tour. 


Ernie Els
(South Africa)

Simpson (United States)

Danny Willett (England)

Stenson (Sweden)

Aiken (South Africa)

Source link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

We are the biggest all round sports news website, serving our readers with the best sports news global

For inquiries please email

Copyright © 2015 Sport World 360. All Rights Reserved.

To Top