playquik
Rugby

Sport24.co.za | Kaplan disagrees with penalty try


Cape Town – Retired South African referee Jonathan Kaplan disagrees with the penalty try awarded to the Sharks in their 18-13 Super Rugby win against the Stormers at Newlands this past weekend.

READ: I’m 100% correct, insists Jonker

The Sharks were awarded a controversial penalty try early in the second half of the match at Newlands after television match official Marius Jonker deemed that Stormers flank Siya Kolisi kicked the ball out of Sharks scrumhalf Cobus Reinach’s hands as he attempted to dot the ball down.

According to Law 10.2 (a), “A penalty try must be awarded if the offence prevents a try that would probably otherwise have been scored. A player who prevents a try being scored through foul play must either be cautioned and temporarily suspended or sent off.”

However, it was debatable whether Kolisi’s actions were intentional and according to Kaplan, Reinach could also have been penalised for using his left arm to propel himself forward.

Kaplan commented on the matter via his official Twitter account and also felt that it was questionable that Kolisi’s actions could be deemed as a kick in the first instance.

Kaplan said Jonker did not look at the intentions of Kolisi, and from the evidence provided it is unclear that Kolisi ever had any intention to kick the ball out of Reinach’s grasp.



Source link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

We are the biggest all round sports news website, serving our readers with the best sports news global

For inquiries please email info@sportworld360.com

Copyright © 2015 Sport World 360. All Rights Reserved.

To Top