Rugby | Madibaz edge Ikeys for first Varsity Cup win

Cape Town – The NMMU-Madibaz trailed for most of the match, but finished strongly with two
tries in the final few minutes to defeat UCT 46-33 at the FNB Stadium on
Monday afternoon.

According to the Rugby365 website, it was the Madibaz’s first win in this year’s Varsity Cup, while UCT remain winless.

UCT got off to a flying start when centre Lihleli Xoli opened the scoring with a try.

The Port Elizabeth team took some time to get in the game,
but they found themselves in front after 14 minutes when wing Ivan-John
du Preez finished off a breakout move to score a nine-point try. 

However, the Madibaz’s lead did not last long as Xoli scored his
second try straight after the kick-off to put UCT back in front.

The Madibaz were the first to strike after the first strategy break
when Tyler Paul got in for a try, but again they let UCT strike back
almost immediately when UCT lock Gary Porter crashed over from close
range to widen the gap on the scoreboard once again.

The Cape side went into the half-time break leading 23-16. 

UCT were the first to score in the second half when Bradley Janse van
Rensburg went over for a try. NMMU hit back soon after however, when
Paul went over for his second try of the game.

The Madibaz then took the lead in the 60th minute when Junior Pokomela stretched over for his try.

With 13 minutes left UCT took the lead once again with a Bednall
penalty, but that was not going to be enough as Du Preez bagged his
second try five minutes from time. 

The game was then put to bed by the Madibaz when Stephanus Nieuwoud got the final try of the game just before full-time.

Player That Rocks: Brandon Brown (Madibaz)



Nine-point try: Lihleli Xoli
Seven-point tries: Bradley Janse van Rensburg
Five-point tries: Lihleli Xoli, Gary Porter
Conversions: Thomas Bednall (2)
Penalty: Thomas Bednall


Nine-point try: Ivon-John du Preez
Seven-point tries: Junior Pokomela, Ivon-John du Preez, Stephanus Nieuwoudt
Five-point tries: Henry Brown, Tyler Paul
Conversions: Thomas Kean (3)



15 Joel Smith, 14 Bradley Janse van Rensburg, 13 Justin Heunis,
12 Lihleli Xoli, 11 Nathan Nel, 10 Thomas Bednall, 9 Steven Wallace, 8 Guy
Alexander, 7 Mark Prior, 6 Luke Stringer, 5 Gary Porter, 4 Jade Kriel, 3 David
Maasch, 2 Brenton Greaves, 1 Joel Carew

Substitutes: 16 Keagan
Timm, 17 Msizi Zondi, 18 Olwethu Hans, 19 Sean Paterson, 20 Dylan Tidbury, 21
Rob Anderson, 22 Suwi Chibale, 23 Samuel Theron


15 Lindelwe
Zungu, 14 Ivon-John du Preez, 13 Keanu Vers, 12 Jeremy Ward, 11 Khaya Malotana,
10 Simon Bolze, 9 Sibusiso Ngcokovane, 8 Junior Pokomela, 7 Tyler Paul, 6 Henry
Brown, 5 Gerrit Huisamen, 4 Kevin Kaba, 3 Nemo Roelofse, 2 Jean-Pierre
Jamieson, 1 Nicolaas Oosthuizen

Substitutes: 16 Jedwyn
Harty, 17 Marzuk Maarman, 18 Jayson Reinecke, 19 Stephanus Nieuwoudt, 20 Luvo
Classen, 21 Thomas Kean, 22 Andile Jho, 23 Xandre Vos

Source link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

We are the biggest all round sports news website, serving our readers with the best sports news global

For inquiries please email

Copyright © 2015 Sport World 360. All Rights Reserved.

To Top