playquik
Rugby

Sport24.co.za | Mallett agrees with penalty try decision


Cape Town – Former Springbok coach Nick Mallett feels the penalty try awarded to the Sharks in their 18-13 Super Rugby win against the Stormers was the correct decision.

The Sharks were awarded a controversial penalty try early in the second half of the match at Newlands after television match official Marius Jonker deemed that Stormers flank Siya Kolisi kicked the ball out of Sharks scrumhalf Cobus Reinach’s hands as he attempted to dot the ball down.

Speaking in the SuperSport studio afterwards, Mallett said: “I thought the game turned on the yellow-card incident with Siya Kolisi. I don’t believe he was deliberately kicking the ball (out of Cobus Reinach’s hands). It was just bad luck. Those are the laws and I have no complaints about the referee’s decision (to award a penalty try). The ball did go down on his foot and possession was lost. You’re not allowed to kick the ball out of a player’s hands.”



Source link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

We are the biggest all round sports news website, serving our readers with the best sports news global

For inquiries please email info@sportworld360.com

Copyright © 2015 Sport World 360. All Rights Reserved.

To Top