Rugby | Shortlist revealed for Try of the Year

The six tries were selected by the IRPA Try of Year panel of former
players in Ireland’s Shane Horgan, All Black Christian Cullen, Serge
Betsen of France and South Africa’s Stefan Terblanche.

The winner, though, will be determined by guests at the World Rugby
Awards at Battersea Evolution in London on November 1, who will be able
to view the shortlisted tries and register their votes during dinner
with the accolade presented later in the evening.

Debaty’s try against England in the Six Nations back in March began
in their own 22, the ball being worked along the line to wing Noa
Nakaitaci, who broke down the left and then stepped inside Mike Brown,
finding the French prop coming around in support to take the offload and
run in.

The next try in the calendar year was Vainikolo’s and came in the
World Rugby Pacific Nations Cup in July and also began in the 22, Kurt
Morath’s cross-field kick bouncing into up into the arms of the Tongan
wing who shrugged off four players to run in a try against the USA.

Tipuric turned Ireland replacement Ian Madigan inside out to score in
Wales’ warm-up victory in August, the flank combining with Tyler
Morgan down the left wing to create the scoring opportunity at the
Millennium Stadium.

The remaining three contenders come from Rugby World Cup 2015 with
some quick handling among the Japanese backs creating the angle for
wing Kotaro Matsushima to slice through and release Goromaru to keep
the Brave Blossoms’ hopes alive against South Africa.

Savea’s two tries both came against France in the quarter-finals and
were contrasting in style, the first running onto a sublime offload from
Daniel Carter and the second seeing the All Black charge through three
defenders to touch down.

World Rugby Chairman Bernard Lapasset said: “We have been lucky
enough to witness some fantastic tries during 2015 and these tries are
testament to rugby’s character-building values of teamwork and enjoyment
and I am looking forward to seeing who the Awards’ guests will give the
honour of scoring the IRPA Try of the Year 2015 to.”

IRPA Executive Director Rob Nichol said: “With so many great
international tries scored this year, involving both individual
brilliance and great teamwork, it was a difficult process to settle on
just six nominees and they would all be worthy of the award.”

For more information on the World Rugby Awards visit,


2014 – Francois Hougaard (South Africa) – South Africa v New Zealand
2013 – Beauden Barrett (New Zealand) – New Zealand v France
2012 – Bryan Habana (South Africa) – South Africa v New Zealand
2011 – Radike Samo (Australia) – Australia v New Zealand
2010 – Chris Ashton (England) – England v Australia
2009 – Jaque Fourie (South Africa) – South Africa v British and Irish Lions
2008 – Brian O’Driscoll (Ireland) – Australia v Ireland 
2007 – Takudzwa Ngwenya (USA) – South Africa v USA

Source link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

We are the biggest all round sports news website, serving our readers with the best sports news global

For inquiries please email

Copyright © 2015 Sport World 360. All Rights Reserved.

To Top