Rugby | Stander starts against Boks

Cape Town – Ireland coach Joe Schmidt has named his team for
Saturday’s first Tests against the Springboks at Newlands.

Hooker Rory Best captains the side and is joined in the
front row by Jack McGrath and Mike Ross.

Devin Toner and Iain Henderson pack down in the second row
with Jordi Murphy named at openside, South African-born CJ Stander at blindside
flank and Jamie Heaslip at No 8.

Conor Murray and Paddy Jackson are the halfbacks while Luke
Marshall lines out at inside-centre with Robbie Henshaw playing at
outside-centre. Jared Payne is named at fullback with Andrew Trimble and Keith
Earls on the wings.

The substitutes named are Sean Cronin, Finlay Bealham, Tadhg
Furlong, Ultan Dillane, Rhys Ruddock, Kieran Marmion, Ian Madigan and Craig

The other South African-born players in the Ireland squad –
hooker Richardt Strauss and lock Quinn Roux – did not crack the nod for the
match-day squad.

Kick-off on Saturday is scheduled for 17:00.


South Africa



15 Jared Payne 14 Andrew Trimble 13 Robbie Henshaw 12 Luke Marshall 11 Keith Earls 10 Paddy Jackson 9 Conor Murray 8 Jamie Heaslip 7 Jordi Murphy 6 CJ Stander 5 Devin Toner 4 Iain Henderson 3 Mike Ross 2 Rory Best (captain) 1 Jack McGrath

Substitutes: 16 Sean Cronin 17 Finlay Bealham 18 Tadhg Furlong 19 Ultan Dillane 20 Rhys Ruddock 21 Kieran Marmion 22 Ian Madigan 23 Craig Gilroy

Source link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

We are the biggest all round sports news website, serving our readers with the best sports news global

For inquiries please email

Copyright © 2015 Sport World 360. All Rights Reserved.

To Top