Rugby | Tuks score century against hapless Ikeys

Cape Town – Tuks made history by being the first team in history to score 100 points in a single Varsity Cup match, defeating UCT 100-25 at the Cape Town Stadium on Monday.

Both the Ikey Tigers and Tuks went into the match with something to play for.

For Tuks, the possibility of making it into the semi-finals of the Varsity Cup, while the Ikey Tigers were determined not to end their campaign without a win.

Both teams started off trying to get the edge on their opponent, but it was Tuks who struck first blood as Van der Merwe powered over the line for a seven point try, with Stander converting.

The Ikey Tigers hit back through captain Guy alexander to reduce the deficit to only two points, but Tuks soon ran away with the game.

Dries Swanepoel scored a seven-point try after a clever chipped pass over UCT’s defence, before Van der Merwe scored two impressive nine-point tries in quick succession. Tuks went on to score three more tries before the first half was up, including another nine-point try from Clyde Davids. At the break, the score was 63-7 in favour of the students from Pretoria.

UCT started quickly in the second half, scoring two nine-point tries within six minutes through Thomas Bednall. Tuks quickly hit back and ensured that they finished strong.

Man-of-the-match and Tuks wing Duhan Van der Merwe scored a seven-point try in the 61st minute before he scored a nine- and seven-point try within the space of two minutes right before the final whistle.

On the stroke of the 80th minute, Tuks were awarded a penalty and Tinus de Beer was successful in ensuring that his team made history by being the first team to score 100 points in a Varsity Cup match. 


Ikey Tigers

Seven-point tries: Guy Alexander

Nine-point tries: Thomas Bednall (2) 

UP Tuks

Five-point tries: Ruan Steenkamp, Jan Elsin, Tinus De Beer

Seven-point tries: Duhan Van der Merwe (3), Dries Swanepoel

Nine-point tries: Duhan Van der Merwe (3), Clyde Davids

Penalties: Tinus De Beer

Conversions: Joshua Stander (6), Tinus De Beer (3) 



15 Nathan Nel, 14 Sebastian Roodt, 13 Justin Heunis, 12 Lihleli Xoli, 11 Bradley Janse van Rensburg, 10 Thomas Bednall, 9 Dylan Tidbury, 8 Guy Alexander, 7 Lu, 6 Olwethu Hans, 5 Mark Prior, 4 Jade Kriel, 3 Samuel Theron, 2 Keagan Timm, 1 Msizi Zondi 

Substitutes: 16 Sean Peterson, 17 Joel Carew, 18 Alva Senderayi, 19 Nyasha Tarusenga, 20 Steven Wallace, 21 Kofi Appiah, 22 Rayno Mapoe, 23 Jayson Landman


15 Duncan Matthews, 14 Riaan Britz, 13 Dries Swanepoel, 12 Toko Maebane, 11 Duhan Van der Merwe, 10 Joshua Stander, 9 Andre Warner, 8 Clyde Davids, 7 Frederik Erksteen, 6 Ruan Steenkamp, 5 Eli Snyman, 4 Aston Fortuin, 3 Neethling Fouche, 2 Corniel Els, 1 Andrew Beerwinkel 

Substitutes: 16 Jan Elsin, 17 Genis Du Toit, 18 Pieter Jansen van Vuren, 19 Luke Van der Smit, 20 Carlo Engelbrecht, 21 Tinus De Beer, 22 Keanan Van Wyk, 23 Justin Forwood

All results on Monday:

Varsity Cup

UCT Ikeys 25-100 UP-Tuks         

CUT 35-26 NMMU-Madibaz

NWU-Pukke 37-21 UFS Shimlas

UJ 42-16 Maties

Varsity Shield

UWC 13-60 Wits        

TUT 45-40 UFH

Source link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

We are the biggest all round sports news website, serving our readers with the best sports news global

For inquiries please email

Copyright © 2015 Sport World 360. All Rights Reserved.

To Top