Rugby | UJ make light work of Shimlas

Johannesburg – The scoreline flatters the Shimlas, who were
convincingly outplayed 72-49 by UJ at the FNB Stadium in Soweto on Monday

The students from Johannesburg were looking to turn around
their poor performance of last week and they did so with aplomb against the
defending Varsity Cup champions from Bloemfontein.

It was an evenly matched first 10 minutes, but then Shimlas
broke through to break the deadlock through try-scoring machine Mosolwa Mafuma.
It was a nine-point try converted, and Shimlas led 11-0.

But a penalty followed by a nine-point try of their own by
UJ, through Divan Nel, put the Johannesburg side ahead 14-11. A seven-point try
by David Antoites put UJ 23-11 up after 18 minutes. Another UJ try by Ronald
Brown after 28 minutes furthered their lead to 32-11.

UJ scored a nine-point try to move to 43-11, before Shimlas
finally got one back. A seven-point try by Arthur Williams pulled the scores
back to 43-20.

Although Shimlas managed a seven-point try through Stephan
Janse van Rensburg, the UJ steam train was rolling on full steam ahead. The men
in orange scored seven tries on the night and although a late surge by Shimlas
pulled it back to 72-49, UJ dominated the encounter.

Player That Rocks: Johan Oosthuizen (UJ)



Nine-point tries: Bradley Moolman, Ronald Brown

Seven-point tries: Ronald Brown, Caswell Khoza, David
Antonites, Wian Conradie

Five-point tries: Robert De Bruyn

Cons: Divan Nel (6)

Pens: Divan Nel (3)


Nine-point tries: Mosolwa Mafuma, Boela Venter

Seven-point tries: Stephan Janse van Rensburg, Arthur
Williams, Vuyani Maqina

Cons: Pieter-Steyn de Wet (5) 



15 Ronald Brown, 14 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 13 Bradley Moolman,
12 Robert De Bruyn, 11 Caswell Khoza, 10 Divan Nel, 9 Devon Mare, 8 Jakobus
Porter, 7 Etienne Oosthuizen, 6 Wian Conradie, 5 David Antonites, 4 FP Pelser,
3 Nico Du Plessis, 2 Johannes Snyman, 1 Siyakubonga Nzuzo

Substitutes: 16 Emmanuel Morowane, 17 Kyle Kruger, 18 Jeremy
Jordaan, 19 Frederik Bezuidenhout, 20 Hilton Mudariki, 21 Peter John Walters,
22 Dominic Kroezen, 23 Waldo Weideman


15 Renaldo Meyer, 14 Mosolwa Mafuma, 13 Pieter
Faber, 12 Arthur Williams, 11 Vuyani Maqina, 10 Pieter-Steyn de Wet, 9
Mthokozisi Mkhabela, 8 Wilhelm Kotzenberg, 7 Neil Claassen, 6 Anrich Alberts, 5
Dennis visser, 4 Ntokoza Vidima, 3 Dolph Botha, 2 Marco Klopper, 1 Thabiso

Substitutes: 16 Elandre Huggett, 17 Teunis Nieuwoudt, 18
Nicolaas Immelman, 19 Boela Venter, 20 Renier Botha, 21 Stephan Janse van
Rensburg, 22 Musa Mahlasela, 23 Chase Morison

Source link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

We are the biggest all round sports news website, serving our readers with the best sports news global

For inquiries please email

Copyright © 2015 Sport World 360. All Rights Reserved.

To Top