Golf | Van Zyl's Augusta dream hinges on Match Play

Cape Town – Jaco van Zyl’s Masters hopes depends on a solid showing in his maiden
appearance at the World Golf Championships – Dell Match Play that tees off at
the Austin Country Club on Wednesday.

BRACKET: Dell Match Play

event debut in the WGC championship comes on the back of a personal best season
on the European Tour during which he cracked the top three four times and
collected €1 525 598 along the way to a 21st place ranking in the final Race to

Dainfern pro heads into the event on the back of four top 10 finishes in five
starts on the Sunshine Tour, including victory in the Eye of Africa PGA

Van Zyl
has been seeded alongside Danny Willett, Brooks Koepka and Billy Horschel and,
if the 14-time Sunshine Tour winner can get past these three gents in Group 10,
he would guarantee his berth at Augusta National for the 80th edition of The

South Africans in the field include Branden Grace, Charl Schwartzel and Louis

Grace is
set to square off against Russell Knox, David Lingmerth and Chris Kirk in Group
11, Schwartzel goes up against Brandt Snedeker, Danny Lee and Charley Hoffman
in Group 15 and Oosthuizen will play Andy Sullivan, Bernd Wiesberger and Matt
Jones in Group 16.

Draw for the group
stage of the $9.5 million World Golf Championships Dell Match Play
tournament starting at Austin Country Club, Texas on Wednesday:

Group 1

Jordan Spieth (USA), Justin Thomas (USA), Victor Dubuisson (FRA), Jamie Donaldson (WAL)

Group 2

Jason Day (AUS), Paul Casey (ENG), Thongchai Jaidee (THA), Graeme McDowell (NIR)

Group 3

Rory McIlroy (NIR), Kevin Na (USA), Smylie Kaufman (USA), Thorbjorn Olesen (DEN)

Group 4

Bubba Watson (USA), JB Holmes (USA), Emiliano Grillo (ARG), Patton Kizzire (USA)

Group 5

Rickie Fowler (USA), An Byeong-Hun (KOR), Scott Piercy (USA), Jason Dufner (USA)

Group 6

Adam Scott (AUS), Bill Haas (USA), Chris Wood (ENG), Thomas Pieters (GER)

Group 7

Justin Rose (ENG), Matt Kuchar (USA), Anirban Lahiri (IND), Fabian Gomez (ARG)

Group 8

Dustin Johnson (USA), Jimmy Walker (USA), Kiradech Aphibarnrat (THA), Robert Streb (USA)

Group 9

Patrick Reed (USA), Phil Mickelson (USA), Matthew Fitzpatrick (ENG), Daniel Berger (USA)

Group 10

Danny Willett (USA), Brooks Koepka (USA), Billy Horschel (USA), Jaco van Zyl (RSA)

Group 11

Branden Grace (RSA), Russell Knox (SCO), David Lingmerth (SWE), Chris Kirk (USA)

Group 12

Hideki Matsuyama (JPN), Kevin Kisner (USA), Soren Kjeldsen (DEN), Rafa Cabrera Bello (ESP)

Group 13

Sergio Garcia (ESP), Marc Leishman (AUS), Ryan Moore (USA), Lee Westwood (ENG)

Group 14

Zach Johnson (USA), Shane Lowry (IRL), Martin Kaymer (GER), Marcus Fraser (AUS)

Group 15

Brandt Snedeker (USA), Charl Schwartzel (RSA), Danny Lee (NZL), Charley Hoffman (USA)

Group 16

Louis Oosthuizen (RSA), Andy Sullivan (ENG), Bernd Wiesberger (AUT), Matt Jones (AUS)

Source link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

We are the biggest all round sports news website, serving our readers with the best sports news global

For inquiries please email

Copyright © 2015 Sport World 360. All Rights Reserved.

To Top