playquik
Golf

Updated rules eliminate DQs for some scorecard errors (Reuters)


By Mark Lamport-Stokes (Reuters) – Golfers will no longer be disqualified for failing to include penalty strokes on their scorecards, when unaware of the violation, in one of a number of rule changes announced on Monday by the sport’s governing bodies. This limited exception to the ‘disqualification penalty for submission of incorrect scorecard’ would have saved Padraig Harrington and Camilo Villegas from being disqualified from events during the 2011 season had it applied at the time. “A player is not disqualified for returning a lower score for a hole than actually taken as a result of failing to include penalty strokes that the player did not know were incurred before returning the scorecard,” the game’s rulemakers said in a joint statement.



Source link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

We are the biggest all round sports news website, serving our readers with the best sports news global

For inquiries please email info@sportworld360.com

Copyright © 2015 Sport World 360. All Rights Reserved.

To Top