Van Avermaet bests Sagan to win Omloop Het Nieuwsblad

  • By
  • Published 20 mins ago

Greg Van Avermaet launched his sprint early and held on to take the victory ahead of a small group of escapees at Omloop Het Nieuwsblad. Photo: Tim De Waele |

After years of strong Omloop Het Nieuwsblad performances that didn’t quite materialize into victories, BMC’s Greg Van Avermaet crossed the line first Saturday ahead of Peter Sagan (Tinkoff).

Van Avermaet and Sagan were part of a small group of escapees on the Taainberg climb some 60km from the finish. The group linked up with a few riders from the day’s early break, forming a strong selection off the front that was able to keep the peloton at bay as the kilometers ticked down. Five of the riders up the road ultimately managed to stay clear of the bunch despite a concerted chase by Etixx – Quick-Step.

Van Avermaet jumped early in the reduced sprint for the win, and although Sagan managed to get onto his wheel, he was unable to overtake Van Avermaet. The 30-year-old Belgian has now finished inside the top six at Omloop Het Nieuwsblad in five consecutive editions, but this time he came away with the victory.

Sagan was forced to settle for runner-up honors, while Lotto-Soudal’s Tiesj Benoot took third.

“I think this is the most important race in Belgium so far, so I’m pretty happy with this victory,” Van Avermaet said.

FILED UNDER: Race Report / Road TAGS: / /

Source link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

We are the biggest all round sports news website, serving our readers with the best sports news global

For inquiries please email

Copyright © 2015 Sport World 360. All Rights Reserved.

To Top