Motorsport | Russian GP: Raikkonen handed penalty, Merc win constructors' title

2015 CONSTRUCTORS’ CHAMPIONS: Mercedes won their second consecutive F1 Constructors’ title at the Russian GP. Image: AFP/ Andrej Isakovic

Sochi, Russia – Mercedes clinched back-to-back Formula One constructors’ titles with four races to spare at the Russian Grand Prix on Sunday.

The German team took an unassailable lead in the title race after Lewis Hamilton’s ninth win of the season, and with a little help from the race stewards in Sochi.

Raikkonen penalised for Bottas incident

Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen had finished fifth but the Finn was subsequently penalised for crashing into the Williams of Valtteri Bottas on the last lap.

Read: As it happened: 2015 Russian GP

Raikkonen was demoted to eighth, handing the title to Mercedes at the same track as they won it in 2014.  McLaren driver Fernando Alonso was given a five second penalty for track infringements at turn 16 which meant that Max Verstappen scored the final point as moved up one place 10th and the Spaniard finished 11th.

Mercedes tweeted pictures of their celebrations:

Updated final classification from the Russian GP

1. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 1:37:11.024
2. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari +00:05.953
3. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India – Mercedes 00:28.918
4. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams-Mercedes 00:38.831
5. Daniil Kvyat (Russia) RedBull – Renault 00:47.566
6. Felipe Nasr (Brazil) Sauber – Ferrari 00:56.508
7. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Lotus – Mercedes 1min01.088
8. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 1min12.358
9. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1min19.467
10. Max Verstappen (Netherlands) Toro Rosso – Renault 01min28.424
11. Fernando Alonso (Spain) McLaren 01min31.210
12r. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams-Mercedes 1 lap
13. Roberto Merhi (Spain) Marussia – Ferrari 1 lap
14. Will Stevens (Britain) Marussia – Ferrari 2 laps
15r. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) RedBull – Renault 6 laps
r. Carlos Sainz Jr (Spain) Toro Rosso – Renault 7 laps
r. Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus – Mercedes 42 laps
r. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 46 laps
r. Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Sauber – Ferrari 53 laps
r. Nico Hulkenberg (Germany) Force India – Mercedes 53 laps

(rank: r = retired, nc = not classified) Fastest Lap: Sebastian Vettel,1:40.071, lap 51.

Updated Driver and Constructor standings after the Russian GP

Drivers Points

1. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 302
2. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari 236
3. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 229
4. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 123
5. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams 111
6. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams 109
7. Daniil Kvyat (Russia) Red Bull 76
8. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Red Bull 73
9. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India 54
10. Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus 44 11.
Nico Hulkenberg (Germany) Force India 38
12. Max Verstappen (Netherlands) Toro Rosso 33
13. Felipe Nasr (Brazil) Sauber 25
14. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Lotus 22
15. Carlos Sainz Jr (Spain) Toro Rosso 12
16. Fernando Alonso (Spain) McLaren 11
17. Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Sauber 9
18. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 8
19. Roberto Merhi (Spain) Marussia 0
20. Will Stevens (Britain) Marussia 0
21. Alexander Rossi (U.S.) Marussia 0

Constructors Points

1. Mercedes – 531
2. Ferrari – 359
3. Williams-Mercedes 220
4. RedBull – Renault 149
5. Force India – Mercedes 92
6. Lotus – Mercedes 66
7. Toro Rosso – Renault 45
8. Sauber – Ferrari 34
9. McLaren – 19
10. Marussia – Ferrari 0

Source link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

We are the biggest all round sports news website, serving our readers with the best sports news global

For inquiries please email

Copyright © 2015 Sport World 360. All Rights Reserved.

To Top